Official Sun City Girls Discography:

Gum Arabic

Gum Arabic - CD cover
CD cover (2010)

11/4/2010: CD (Annihaya END 03)

Packaged in a 26cm x 40cm, gold-foil numbered limited edition of 1000 copies, full colour fold out poster portraying the musicians, the work of local artist Hatem Imam, and liner notes in both Arabic and English."The Bishop brothers continue to dig into the Girls' archives from before Charles Gocher's tragic disappearance in 2007. In this new offering they revisit North African songs from Morocco to the Mid-East and beyond, interpreting them with their own distinctive style. All tracks on this CD are cover songs from Sun City Girl's repertoire, several frequently performed by the group live for more than 20 years. Several cuts were inspired by found unmarked cassettes and radio recordings made in Egypt and Morocco by Alan Bishop in the early 1980's. The original song titles and composers of the radio-inspired arrangements are unknown. SCG created their own song titles and rearranged the music, at times radically, to fit their vision. The rest of the tracks are by various artists from the Middle East and North Africa. One track, "Wild World of Animals" is an African piece written for the theme of an American television show by the same name from the 1970s."

  1. Radio Morocco
  2. Sev Acher
  3. Helwa Shak
  4. Kal el Lazi Kad Ham
  5. Nights of Malta
  6. Esoterica of Abyssynia
  7. Space Prophet Dogon
  8. Theme from "Wild World of Animals"
  9. Cruel and Thin
  10. Gum Arabic
  11. Lies Up the Niger